A Quarter of Life, Studying

Daily Prompt: Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

Already into the second week of school, and I’ve seen myself putting surfing and blogging aside. I see how my daily schedule unfold in a busy and messy way. It’s all about reading the textbook, jotting the notes, doing the homework, keeping up with the progress, participating in class, smiling to familiar but not as familiar faces in school and waving a hand. It’s probably the long vacation, I’ve not caught the mood of studying, I’ve not grasp the momentum. Yes, momentum of studying.

Recall the days I was out of school, I had to work. I miss school so much. I miss those friends, I miss lunches together. I miss those moments so much despite the fact that we were only having simple meals, and rushing project deadlines. I wasn’t so glad that the time spent in my previous school was so short. I wished it was longer. I wished to have the same people around me to feel the comfort.

Now that I’m in a whole new environment, it’s about random groupings, say hi to everyone, mixing with different people everyday. I’m not used to a bigger environment with more students. I’m not used to the kind of tasks assigned. I’m not used to everything. But I’ll adjust, soon, I hope. I wish to find some friends whom I can talk endlessly with, just like the ones I’ve already found. But wishing doesn’t get you anywhere, action does. But who to mix with? Life’s going through the “question marks” phase. I need to see the rainbow at the end of this tunnel.

We’ll always miss the past times that we had, and think that living in the current is a torture. We need to move on to look back and realize.

One thought on “A Quarter of Life, Studying

Leave a Reply

